Welcome to The 11th Asia-Pacific International Conference on Lightning (APL2019)

June 12 – 14, 2019 at Hong Kong, CHINA

The Asia-Pacific International Conference on Lightning is an excellent platform for both worldwide academics and professionals to present and discuss latest findings in the field of lightning discharge and lightning protection. The 11th Asia-Pacific International Conference on Lightning (APL2019) will be held during June 12 -14, 2019 in Hong Kong, organized by The Hong Kong Polytechnic University and APL2019 Local Organizing Committee. APL2019 will continue along the line of previous conferences held in Beijing (2003), Seoul (2004), Tokyo (2005), Guangzhou (2007), Jeju (2008), Yokohama (2009), Chengdu (2011), Seoul (2013), Nagoya (2015) and Krabi (2017), respectively.

The conference is organized by The Hong Kong Polytechnic University and APL2019 Local Organizing Committee, and sponsored by IEEE Hong Kong Section .



  • Lightning Discharge
  • Lightning Detection and Warning Systems
  • Lightning Electromagnetic Pulse (LEMP) and Lightning-Induced Effects
  • Lightning Attachment
  • Lightning Down-Conductors and Earthing
  • Lightning Protection of Power Systems
  • Lightning Protection of Railways and Vehicles
  • Lightning Protection of Electronic Systems
  • Lightning Protection of Renewable Energy Systems and Smart Grids
  • Lightning Protection and Lightning Testing Standards or Guidelines
  • Practical and Specific Lightning Protection Problems
  • Lightning Safety


  • Prof. J. He, Chairperson (China)
  • Prof. Y. Baba, Vice Chairperson (Japan)
  • Prof. B. Zhang, Secretary (China)
  • Prof. Patrick Y. Du (Hong Kong, China)
  • Prof. Z. Fu (China)
  • Dr. S. Gu (China)
  • Mr. Z. A. Hartono (Malaysia)
  • Prof. U. Kumar (India)
  • Prof. B.-H. Lee (Korea)
  • Dr. K. Lee (Korea)
  • Mr. M. Sato (Japan)
  • Prof. K. Yamamoto (Japan)
  • Prof. S. Yokoyama (Japan)
  • Prof. Y. Zhang (China)
  • Prof. P. Yutthagowith (Thailand)
  • Mr. T. Miki, Honorary Member (Japan)
  • Prof. N. Watanabe, Honorary Member (Japan)


  • Prof. Patrick. Y. Du, Chairperson (Hong Kong, China)
  • Prof. M. Chen, Co-Chairperson (Hong Kong, China)
  • Mr. Z. Qin, Secretary (Hong Kong, China)
  • Prof. B. Zhang (China)
  • Dr. H. Chen (China)
  • Mr. B. Li (Hong Kong, China)
  • Mr. G. Zhang (Hong Kong, China)
  • Mr. S. Ng (Hong Kong, China)
  • Prof. Y. Zhang (China)


  • Prof. M. Chen, Chairperson (Hong Kong, China)
  • Prof. Y. Baba, Co-Chairperson (Japan)
  • Prof. Z. Fu (China)
  • Prof. J. W. Woo (Korea)
  • Prof. N. Pattanadech (Thailand)


Secretary: Zilong Qin, Binghao Li & Ge Zhang
APL 2019 Office, Department of Building Service Engineering,
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University.
Hung Hom, Hong Kong SAR, China.
E-mail: oc.apl2019@gmail.com / oc@apl2019.org